Title

Travel Confessions: Musician Courtney Barnett

Published February 13th, 2013

With her hit single History Eraser constantly playing in our heads (and Triple J) we made it our mission to have a chat with Melbourne musician Courtney Barnett. Much like her film clip, Courtney’s rolling lyrics and old-school base are perfect for bike rides, bus rides and just hitting the road in general. Here we managed to get a hold of her between tours to ask her about life on the road, music around the world and where we can catch her next.

 

How many countries have you travelled to? I've only been to New Zealand so far...I got my first passport last year.

 

 If you could narrow is down, what would be your favourite? New Zealand! It's the best. I loved it. I've been there twice now.

 

With the release of your debut EP you've done a bit of touring, and with more to come. How are you handling living life out of a suitcase? I have a really cool suitcase I found at a store just out of Hobart. It fits everything I need.

 

How would you describe your touring style? Lots of stress and panic to get somewhere on time, only to get there and have to wait 4 hours till something happens. I always make sure to have a good book.

 

Any crazy tour experiences so far? Just the usual tyre falling off the tour van and sitting around for 6 hours till someone saves you kind-of-thing.

 

If you could perform at any venue in the world, what would it be? Albert Hall (London, not Canberra)

 

What international music scene inspires you the most? People say the Berlin scene is crazy. But I'm most inspired by some of the stuff that happens in Melbourne.

 

Where would you love to travel next? Well we're doing the Something For Kate tour in May. That'll be great to see places like Perth, Darwin, Townsville, Cairns where I've never been. I wanna do it in a big bus like Priscilla but that probably won't happen. Then maybe Europe. Europe looks like it would be nice.

 

SOMETHING FOR KATE national tour
Fri May 10 - Ferntree Gully Hotel VIC
Sat May 11 - Pier Live Frankston VIC
Thu May 16 - Coolangatta Hotel QLD
Fri May 17 - Joe's Waterhole Sunshine Coast QLD
Sat May 18 - Hi Fi Brisbane QLD
Fri May 24 - Theatre Royal Castlemaine VIC
Sat May 25 - The Gov Adelaide SA
Wed May 29 - Unibar Wollongong Uni NSW
Thu May 30 - Bar on the Hill Newcastle Uni NSW
Fri May 31 - Zierholz University of Canberra ACT
Sat June 1 - Metro Sydney NSW
Fri June 7 - Astor Theatre Perth WA
Fri June 14 - Forum Melbourne VIC
Thu June 20 - Discovery Nightclub Darwin NT
Fri June 21 - The Venue Townsville QLD
Sat June 22 - Tanks Arts Centre Cairns QLD
Sun June 29 - Republic Bar Hobart

 

Lauren Burvill

Australian born but London based, I'm a sucker for big cities and small tropical islands. When travelling, I like eating like a local, dressing like a local, but staying in 5 star style. Have a travel story to share? Tweet me @laurenburvill.